Sesquicentennial in Pictures

St. Cloud State University is celebrating their Sesquicentennial and this was an opportunity for my Journalism Photography class to do a team project about this event. Divided into four teams the class worked on the culture, the people, the place, and the future of the University.

I was part of team culture and my tasks were:

Our first step was to meet with Tom Steman of the University Archives at the Library to clarify how to contrast the past and the present in pictures. My part for the team was to take pictures of some events such as the rehearsal of the theater play The Revolutionists and a few Homecoming events.  In the next step I was responsible to do research about Ruby Cora Webster and the renaming of the B51 Building. Following the research of Ruby Cora Webster I was to get information about the Cultural Nights that been held since 1980 as an International Festival at the University. My final research task was about the St. Cloud University male student`s first dormitory off campus named after Darius Steward. This changed in September 1964 when Case Hall opened their doors for men. My finishing part for this research was to get information about the MEChA (Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano de Aztlan) hunger strike in May 1995 between Centennial Hall and the Administrative Building. To get the content together for the team project I wrote, for each of my research tasks, an article.

The project ended on December 06, 2018 with the presentation of each team´s work. It was an open presentation for the public and the people that were giving support to each team were also invited. The results of the projects can be seen on the Husky Media website and the Press Release for this event was also published.

St. Cloud, Dec. 01, 2018

Gear List

Camera:     Canon 60D
Lenses:      Canon 18-135 mm f3,5
Applications:  Adobe Lightroom CC, Adobe Photoshop CC

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started